Hollywood Walk of Fame Ceremony: *Nsync

NSYNC Honored With Star On The Hollywood Walk Of Fame

Until a few weeks ago, I’d never attended a ceremony to see someone receive their star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. As an artist or actor, that’s the kind of fame everyone hopes to achieve someday. To have your achievements immortalized down Hollywood Boulevard.

There have been a number of ceremonies I’d hoped to attend over the years, including: Steve Carrell, Chris Pratt, Melissa McCarthy and so on. But, usually I had work or school (you know, those adult responsibilities), so I wasn’t able to make it.

On April 30, *NSYNC received their star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, joining the ranks of other top-selling boy bands, like the Backstreet Boys and New Kids on the Block. While I’d been dying to go and anticipating the moment they’d announce the ceremony, I didn’t think I would be able to attend.

If you know me at all…You know my love for this group runs deep. Although they broke up and went their separate ways close to 15 years ago, I still like to think of them as relevant news in my everyday life. I attended one of their shows in Vegas when I was 10. I had the t-shirts, rocked out to their albums, and of course, I’m still a huge JT fan. They were part of my childhood, my adolescent years.

However, my mom happened to have a doctor’s appointment in LA the very same day. We got down to the area early enough that my dad drove by and asked if I wanted to stay for a few minutes.

There was a crowd, but not as large or crazy as I was anticipating.

My parents dropped me off and I tried to make my way through or stand on my tiptoes to see through the heads, cameras and iPhones that were in front of me. Some had been camping out for at least a day or so, so I knew that getting close would be nearly impossible. However, you could at least make out the podium and the door they’d walk out of.

My parents joined me a few minutes later and we waited and waited and waited. It wasn’t that long, but I knew we’d have to leave soon. We kept watching the clock and nothing was happening.

We did see Jessica Biel and Justin’s mom walk out from the main office building closest to us, and I thought that was as good as it was going to get. So we assumed the guys must be getting closer, but it was hard to see much.

31587831_10214714684048054_3272422401291321344_n
Jessica Biel
31577845_10214714683528041_2816068373606039552_n
JT’s mom

I was expecting to hear LOUD, high-pitched screams when they walked out and never did. So much so that I didn’t even realize they had walked out while we were there.

I was able to see Ellen Degeneres through the palm trees on the sidewalk and heard Carson Daly, as they introduced him just as we were leaving. Finally, it was time to leave, so we could make sure we arrived at the next destination on time.

I was bummed, but hey, I was a lot closer than I thought I’d have been. As I looked through photos and videos in the car on the way to the hospital, I noticed five guys walking out of the door I’d had my eye on. I slowed it down and realized we actually had seen them walk out, it all just happened so fast, I didn’t know it at the time. So I took screenshots. My little pre-teen heart couldn’t handle it. I breathed the same air as Justin Timberlake that night. Suddenly, my day was made.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After we ate,  we drove back down Hollywood Boulevard and I was able to get a picture with the star. I was so excited, you’d have thought I was getting a photo with the guys themselves. Unfortunately, I didn’t even get close. But, it was comforting to hear that even those who had camped out and had much better seats didn’t get that close to the guys, nor did they get autographs or selfies. All in all, it was worth the experience.

DcEe8avU0AAyDZo

Seeing them (kind of) receive this honor in person was something special. It reminds you that anything is possible. I hope to attend a real ceremony someday – one that I can see from start to finish, but in the meantime, this was a pretty great day!

That’s all for now,

~Shelby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment