A Glimpse of Summer + Mother’s Day Weekend

32378487_10214810355759787_7247469291493130240_n

Over the weekend, my parents and I went to the Pismo/Avila Beach area to celebrate Mother’s Day. While we’ve been many times together over the years, I can honestly say this was one of my favorite trips of ours. It’s been awhile since we’ve been able to get away for more than just a day trip, and this was everything we could have hoped for. It was full of laughter, some tears, good food and beautiful views.

It might’ve only been overnight, but we packed in as much as we could during the time we were there.

Saturday:

Avila Barn

32336830_10214810352039694_803521285102501888_n

The Avila Barn has been a tradition in our family for just about as long as I can remember. We used to take my grandma to the beach every October for her birthday and we’d always stop there to either pick out our pumpkins or check out the seasonal items.It was nice to pay a visit during this time of year, when it was a tad sunnier than the October month.

32368628_10214810352879715_7620048448766607360_n

We walked through the barn with goodies galore – jams, baking kits, vegetables, fruits, pies and other baked goods and kitchen items. I wanted it all! It’s a southern gal’s dream. I was feeling inspired and joked that I want to be the next Reese Witherspoon with her southern brand, Draper James. She just about does it all. I also decided I’m going to drive myself over one day during the summer and will prepare a meal for my family that weekend! It’s going to be the best shindig this side of…Well, probably just California. But, it’ll be fun.

While the Barn sells many goodies and fresh items, there’s also an ice cream shop and candy store. Seating is limited, but the weather was perfect for wandering the grounds and sitting in one of the rocking chairs on the front porch. We were about to leave, when we spotted the Sweet Roasted Corn booth and decided to get some corn on the cob. Truthfully, the only way I’ll eat it. We grabbed three and fixed it up to our liking with butter and seasonings. I nearly cleaned it off! They were tasty and left corn stuck in my teeth for a good while – That’s how you know it’s good, right?

Avila Pier

After the Barn, we kept driving and ran into the pier, en route to find a lighthouse my mom had discovered online. Although we weren’t able to take the trolley to the hidden lighthouse spot, we got out and walked the pier for a bit. You can buy fresh fish, have lunch at the restaurant on deck or try to catch fish of your own and check out the view of the ocean. The sea lions also put on quite the show. It was refreshing to have the wind whipping my hair around and to be comfortable wearing a jacket, versus the 80 degree or so weather at home.

San Luis Obispo

We still had some time to kill before our dinner reservation, so we drove into San Luis Obispo. The San Luis Obispo area is the perfect mix of small town feel and city life. Boutiques, stores, coffee shops and swanky restaurants line several streets. I was still on a mission to find the perfect outfit for the Taylor Swift concert next Saturday, and I was actually able to pull it off. Many stores carry different products and clothes we don’t have at home. I would’ve loved to have spent more time there and just sit at a coffee shop! Or come back with friends for a fancy dinner at night.

AJ Spurs (Templeton)

The AJ Spurs restaurant in Templeton transports you to an old saloon in the wild, wild west. The main street is like something out of a Hallmark movie with its cute and country-themed facades. The restaurant itself is a bit pricey, but for a nice treat every once in awhile, it’s great. It’s a full-course meal with soup, beans and salad served before the main dish. My mom and I split a steak, rice and potatoes, and of course, there were root beer floats for dessert.

As a kid, I used to always look forward to finishing my meal, so I could pick out a toy from the large stove. It was always a highlight! We have many special memories of taking my grandma for her birthday, as well. If you have a few extra minutes, it’s fun to walk around the empty street; take photos and peek in storefronts.

The Scenic Route

My dad usually likes taking the backroads and doesn’t mind driving a bit farther, wherever we’re visiting. My mom saw there was another lighthouse in the area, and it was the perfect time of evening, just before the sun started to set, so off we went. We were surrounded by rolling hills, vineyards, barns, and green pastures that looked like they could’ve been the setting or backdrop in a movie. We drove around for about an hour and pulled off a few times to stop at the lighthouse or capture photos of the waves as they crashed against the shore. There’s nothing better than just turning on the radio and going for a drive this time of year, especially when you’re near the ocean.

31577844_10214818416801308_7206424213190606848_n

Elephant Seals and Sunsets

32430415_10214810355319776_2145735372972228608_n

We pulled off at a dirt area and walked along the path to discover the elephant seals that were literally taking over the beach. They were fascinating to watch, and we did for a few minutes, as they tried to squeeze in between one another, dove into the ocean or just flopped right on top of their brother or sister. They made the strangest noises, wailing at the top of their lungs or scooted along the sand.

We stopped a few minutes down the road and found another dirt patch to park in and stood at the edge of the cliffs until the sun had almost gone down. I could’ve stayed all night. There’s no better stress reliever than listening to the waves, watching the sunset and being reminded just how small I am and how big our God truly is. I heard Him whisper to my heart things I’d been needing to hear, but had just been too busy to stop and listen to. Sometimes it takes those moments of stillness at the beach to be reminder.

32555227_10214818416681305_4383895212338970624_n.jpg

32430415_10214810355319776_2145735372972228608_n32456339_10214810355039769_7160938503776239616_n

The Beach at Night

After checking into our hotel, we weren’t ready to turn in for the night just yet. We decided to drive down to Pismo’s main street and see what was going on. It was later, so there wasn’t much. We stopped at the candy store and picked up a few treats, then walked out to the pier, although it’s closed for reconstruction for who knows how long? We listened to the ocean stared out into the dark abyss, where the foamy white waves faded out just a few feet away, then decided to call it a night.

Sunday:

The Madonna Inn

32468415_10214810358359852_7475722614019719168_n

My mom wanted to have breakfast at The Madonna Inn for Mother’s Day, as we usually make a stop there when we’re in the area. While I wanted to go all out and have french toast sticks, I decided to stick to the healthier option of the veggie omelet and fruit. My parents and I discussed important things like our American Idol picks for the finale next weekend, as we ate and I nibbled on the sugar stick that came with my iced tea.

32511974_10214810357599833_8196400688721297408_n

I’m obsessed with the decor of the hotel – over-the-top, pink everything! I’ve never stayed at the hotel, but each room is decorated with various themes and colors. There are 110 rooms total. All around the hotel, there are unique wallpapers with textures and prints galore. There’s a grand dining room, which was serving a special Mother’s Day brunch, but we opted for the normal seating area. At night, the special dining room serves dinner and the evening is filled with big band music and dancing. A few years ago, I went for my friend’s bachelorette party and it was a blast!

We visited the gift shops and then perused the outside rose gardens to take a few photos.

It’s the perfect spot for a girl’s weekend or even a honeymoon or a wedding! The premises and grounds are versatile for many special occasions.

Pismo Beach – Daytime Stroll

We hit the beach one last time for a stroll along the sand. It was a tad overcast and chilly, but it made me feel just like a kid again. I got to swing for a few minutes, picked up seashells with my mom and climbed on rocks, so my mom could take my picture. Mostly, I stared at the ocean and let the salty air be the cure for my thoughts. The beach is freeing and the perfect place to rest up before a busy week!

32387194_10214810360439904_8501012340722892800_n

Normally we stop at the outlets in Pismo, but none of us needed anything, so we decided to head out earlier. Once I had my coffee, I was good to go. The next two hours consisted of good music and staring out the window at the little towns and hills we passed by.

There are some days and moments that are just so beautiful you want to capture them in a jar or want to hold onto as long as you can. This was one one of those weekends for me. I’ll never forget it.

As my busy season at work winds down, this was a nice sneak peek for summer and all that’s to come. I hope to document all of my travels and experiences right here.

So stay tuned!

Xoxo,

Shelby

Leave a comment