American Idol Taping Experience

2000px-American_Idol_logo.svg“American Idol” has been a staple in my household since day one. I was ten when the show first premiered. I loved Kelly Clarkson from the minute she walked into the audition room and voted for hours week after week. The rest was history! I bought the t-shirts, went to the tour, and waited for the contestants to come out and sign after the show. This trend follow for the next thirteen seasons, although I couldn’t make it to every tour. Most at school knew me through the years as the “American Idol” girl and I was okay with that. Heck, I even did a research paper on it my sophomore year of high school. I’d definitely call myself an expert at this point.

To me, this show is more than just growing attached to the contestants season after season. It’s the idea that someone can be plucked from obscurity and thrown into instant stardom. You can root for the underdog. We all see a bit of ourselves in the contestants. Everyone has a dream and seeing others that represent us makes us feel like we’ve achieved a bit of that, too.

In honor of the ABC American Idol season one finale, I thought I’d share a few of my experiences with the show!

Finale Taping

10570452_10207622752074187_651651502493761703_n

After following the show for years and religiously watching, my mom and I went to our first “American Idol” finale taping in 2011. We with a couple friends of mine, who were also fans of the show at the time and that particular season. We arrived at the Nokia Theater/LA Live area close to 8 a.m., and thought sure we’d have no problem getting in. WRONG. We waited for hours and each minute that slipped by was a guessing game of whether we’d actually make it inside. Finally, we reached the On-Camera Audience staff members who were handing out tickets and marking off numbers on their clipboards. We were given four tickets, and from what I recall, were one of the last groups to make it inside. Our group was split up, so we were spread throughout the theater, but we made it in! We only had about an hour to eat, run to the restroom and make sure we were inside by showtime.

12523162_10207622562429446_5882746903728000627_n

At the time, we weren’t allowed to bring cameras or phones inside, so we left everything in the car. And we just happened to walk by Aunt Becky (Lori Loughlin) from “Full House” right before we got in line! BUMMER! You never know who you’ll see around there.

Once inside the theater, we found our seats. All around were past ‘Idol’ contestants. I was in such fangirl mode that I was running all around the theater, which is probably frowned upon, to get signatures in my American Idol collector yearbook from Sanjaya (Idol fans will know exactly who that is), Jennette McCurdy, or to tell Lauren Alaina’s mom just how many times I voted for her daughter. It was a blast! It’s also fun to get to know the people you’re sitting next to – see who their favorites are or their experiences at tapings. There’s a good chance this isn’t their first rodeo and they can give you insight as well.

After the finale, we worked our way over the media tent, where the contestants would come for interviews after the show. We were able to meet several that night, just not Lauren, who I was really hoping to meet.

In the years to come, we started leaving a few minutes before the show ended, as Ryan Seacrest would rattle off the numbers and they’d recap the performances of the night. This gave us a chance to run back to the car for our cameras and phones and snag a spot right next to the media area. We were able to meet so many favorite contestants, especially during seasons 12 and 13, including: Colton Dixon, Janelle Arthur and more.

In total, we’ve been to about six or seven other ‘Idol’ tapings, most of them being one of the finale nights, so we’ve learned what works and what doesn’t. It’s kind of a learn as you go thing and each season is different.

Live Tapings – CBS Studios

944658_10207622573109713_2142234521300389593_n

We went to the first live taping of season 12 at CBS Studios. Again, we lined up earlier in the morning and waited several hours. But, it paid off in a big way. A couple girls I’d met in line and myself were chosen to stand in the pit, which was right by the stage and the judges. This was the year that Mariah Carey, Nicki Minaj, Randy Jackson and Keith Urban. I was in awe watching the cameras and production of it all more so than the performances. We were also able to talk to the stage director’s daughter, so it was fun getting to hear some of her stories from over the years. During one of the commercial breaks, I awkwardly waved to Keith Urban and he waved back and said “Well, hi there!” I know it wasn’t much, but it kind of made my life, because he’s one of my favorites.

Another night, I almost got to meet Drake, because he was in the audience and shook the hands of some fans sitting right next to me. After the taping, Keith Urban hung around on the stage to sign autographs! I was able to pass my ticket to him for him to sign, although it looks nothing like his actual signature, I know it is and that’s what matters.

For one of the last seasons (when Nick Fradiani won), we got tickets to the finale, this one being at the Dolby Theater, which I love. However, it wasn’t the best setup to meet anyone. We were in the very top mezzanine for the show, and after, it was impossible to get anywhere near the contestants or the media circuit, which was a disappointment. But, there were a lot of wonderful music guests that I’d never seen live and I saw the contestant I’d been voting for win, which is always the best feeling.

While it’s fun, and sometimes much less stressful, these kinds of opportunities can only happen when you experience the show live! The best part is that it’s all free! You never have to pay for a TV show taping or special.

Now, it’s your turn to experience the fun:

How do you get tickets?

The first step is to sign up under On-Camera Audiences! You will see dates listed on the right side of the page and it will allow you to either sign up for tickets or at least get on the waitlist. There are also often other opportunities to win tickets on their social media accounts from time to time, so be on the lookout for those. Or while you’re on the site, check out some of the

Other tips:

  1. Dress cute, but comfortable. You never know when you just might end up on TV or meet your favorite judge or contestant, so have fun with your outfit! Make sure your shoes are also comfortable. Unless you have priority tickets, don’t bother trying to wear heels or pumps, because your feet will hate you for it.
  2. Bring snacks. You’ll be waiting all day and there’s a good chance you won’t have a chance to eat a full meal in between. Eat a good breakfast before! And also bring water. It’s usually pretty warm in the California heat. If you’re at CBS Studios, The Grove/Farmer’s Market is just around the corner, so there’s a chance you’ll have time to take turns running over there, but it’s better to be prepared.
  3. Go with a group! It’s always more fun to go with a group of hardcore fans who understand the hype, can analyze performances from the contestants and who also have a personal history with the show. There’s nothing better than sharing the experience and creating memories with your loved ones either.
  4. Watch the show. I hope by now you’re already a fan of the show, but if you happen to just be attending with a family member or friend, catch up on the last few episodes and pick someone to root for. I promise it’s more fun when you get into the spirit of the show!
  5. Get there early. I know I’ve mentioned this already, but I can’t stress it enough. Unless you have a priority ticket, you are not guaranteed just because you have a piece of paper. They always overbook shows to make sure they have plenty guests in attendance. The earlier you are, the better your chance to get in. However, it’s important to note that because so many other celebrities and contestant family and friends are in the audience, it can limit the chances for the average Joe, regardless of how many tickets they’ve given out. If you go in with the mindset of having fun no matter what happens, it shouldn’t be a problem. You will have to give up an entire day. Just because the ticket says 5 p.m., doesn’t mean you can show up at 4:45 and walk right through the door. Hollywood doesn’t roll that way.
  6. Follow the contestants on social media and tweet. The contestants were really just starting to use social media when we started going to finales. But, it really helped connect the audience to the show in a new way. I was able to become friends with a few of the contestants, thanks to Twitter and let them know that I was at the finale or one of the tapings. Plus, it’s a fun way for them to build their fan bases these days.
  7. Make new friends. My mom and I have met several people that we still keep in contact with because of “American Idol,” whether it was a taping of the show or the Live! Tour. It’s fun to not only share the experiences of the show, but keep up on personal lives as well, even if it usually is only through Facebook or Twitter.

“American Idol” tapes straight through as it is a live show! It’s quick, fun and there’s always a hype guy to keep the energy up. Plus, the excitement and buzz is so high, and I’m usually taking it all in, I don’t want it all to end. We signed up for the finale on Sunday and my fingers are crossed! If you do go to a taping or have been in the past, let me know! I want to hear all about it and if you were able to meet anyone!

That’s all for now,

Shelby

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment